New City: “Who Shapes Chicago 2020″

New City names Design Principal and Founder Carol Ross Barney to its “Hall of Fame”.

“What’s next for Design in the 2020s? This year’s Design 50 highlights Chicago’s creatives—those who give us boundary-pushing work, immersive experiences and all-around impeccable design across all realms. But in the light of the new decade we also posed an important question: What’s next for the transdisciplinary ever-evolving Chicago design scene? Their informed predictions, guesses, thoughts and ideas reflect some widely held desires, hopes and fears for where the design world is headed. It is also further proof that those fifty creatives are without a doubt among the city’s shining stars—the ones to bring in high hopes, hard work and positive change. Here’s what the landscape of design will look like in 2020 according to the fifty most innovative Chicago designers.”

The Hall of Fame includes design leaders such as Jeanne Gang, Theaster Gates, Iker Gil, Matthew Hoffman, Helmut Jahn, Maria Pinto, John Ronan, and Rick Valicenti. These visionaries “…are so well-established and foundational to the design world of Chicago…”