12 2023 AIA Chicago Award in Architecture News

Chicago Award in Architecture—Student Award Overview—AIA Chicago

Congratulations to our very own Bryan Cruz López and classmate from UIUC, Tasmia Kamal, on receiving the Chicago Award in Architecture—Student Award Overview from AIA Chicago for their project Stitching Networks: Transitioning 'Scapes'.

The award recognizes exceptional student work and is given by the AIA Chicago Foundation. This beautiful study of the spaces in between with connections and greenways for Barcelona is transformative. Follow this link to learn more about the project.

Railyard Park 51

Railyard Park — Archello Awards 2023 Longlist: Pavilion of the Year

"Ross Barney Architects designed a new downtown park that enhances economic development, spurs placemaking, and improves connectivity."

Click here to read more about Railyard Park, and Archello Awards 2023 Longlist.

2023 Architizer A

Architizer A+ Awards 2023

Railyard Park has been selected as a Special Mention for the Public Parks & Green Spaces of the Architizer A+ Awards. Click here to see the full list of winners.

Railyard Park 31

2023 AIA National Regional & Urban Design Award

The American Institute of Architects (AIA) recognized Railyard Park with a Regional and Urban Design Award.

The 2023 Regional & Urban Design program recognizes the best in urban design, regional and city planning, and community development. The best planning accounts for the entire built environment, local culture, and available resources—modeling architecture’s promise and true value to communities.

Click here to read more about the project.

2023 Judson

Judson University - Dr. Gillian Stewart-Wells Honor Award

Congratulations to Carol Ross Barney and Lena Reiff on receiving the first two recognitions of the Dr. Gillian Stewart-Wells Honor from the Department of Architecture and Interior Design at Judson University for their invaluable contribution to the profession and leadership as practicing architects.

The Dr. Gillian Stewart-Wells Honor seeks to celebrate women whose contributions elevate the role of female architects in the profession of architecture and architectural education. The recognition was named after Judson’s provost, Dr. Stewart-Wells, for her support as a long-time champion and advocate for architectural education.

2022 0914 Fast Company Innovation By Design Railyard

Fast Company - 2022 Innovation by Design Awards

We are excited to announce that Railyard Park in Rogers, Arkansas received top honor for Best Urban Design by Fast Company as part of its 2022 Innovation by Design Awards. The program highlights designers and businesses who are solving the most crucial problems of today and anticipating the pressing issues of tomorrow. Click here to see the full list of winners.

2022 0912 AIA Chicago Decarbonization Citation of Merit

AIA Chicago DESIGNIGHT - Decarbonization Award

Ross Barney Architects is honored to be awarded the Decarbonization Award, Citation of Merit, for the McDonald's Global Flagship at Walt Disney Resort.

The purpose of the Decarbonization Award is to recognize those projects that have gone above and beyond base level energy reduction goals. Recognizing a greater need for the built environment to use less energy in construction, material use and occupied energy consumption. The goals of this award are to showcase those project vanguards that exemplify the profession’s abilities to pursue the goals of the 2030 Commitment without compromise to the functional and aesthetic goals of the project.

2022 0901 Architectural Record Design Leader Award

Architectural Record - 2022 Women in Architecture Awards

Design Principal and Founder, Carol Ross Barney, has been honored as Design Leader by Architectural Record in their ninth annual Women in Architecture Design Leadership Awards.

2022 AIA Chicago Lerch Bates Peoples Choice Award No Frame

Public Voting Now Open for 2022 AIA Chicago Lerch Bates People’s Choice Award

Searle Visitor Center, Lincoln Park Zoo is a finalist in 2022 AIA Chicago Lerch Bates People’s Choice Awards, presented in partnership with AIA Chicago and the Chicago Architecture Center. Visit here to register and vote.

2022 0816 AIA Chicago Decarbonization Finalist

AIA Chicago - Decarbonization Finalist

The McDonald’s Global Flagship at Walt Disney World Resort has been named a finalist in AIA Chicago’s Design Excellence Awards.

2022 0708 AN Best of Practice Awards

The Architect's Newspaper - Best of Practice Awards

We are honored to be named as the Best Large Midwest Architecture Firm in The Architect’s Newspaper 2022 Best of Practice Awards. The award acknowledges the work of national leaders in the AEC industry who demonstrate the establishment of a successful company is as valuable as the creation of a singular building.

“Ross Barney Architects should be recognized for the firm’s longstanding commitment to collaborative and inclusive civic engagement and for using design as a tool to empower communities and to bring greater equity and accessibility to the public realm.” Coren Sharples (Principal SHoP Architects, Jury member)

Click here to see the full list of honorees.
2022 0624 Crains 2022 Sustainability

Crain's - 2022 Notable Leaders in Sustainability

Design Principal and Founder Carol Ross Barney, FAIA, HASLA has been named as one of the notable leaders in sustainability.

Up arrow