Architectural Record - 2022 Women in Architecture Awards

September 01, 2022
2022 0901 Architectural Record Design Leader Award

Ross Bar­ney Archi­tects is pleased to announce that Design Prin­ci­pal and Founder, Car­ol Ross Bar­ney, has been hon­ored as Design Leader by Archi­tec­tur­al Record in their ninth annu­al Women in Archi­tec­ture Design Lead­er­ship Awards. The awards seek to rec­og­nize and pro­mote notable women in the field across five cat­e­gories: Design Leader, New Gen­er­a­tion Leader, Inno­va­tor, Edu­ca­tor, and Activist. The year’s win­ners include: 

Design Leader: Car­ol Ross Barney

New Gen­er­a­tion Leader: Jing Liu of SO-IL

Inno­va­tor: Ali­son Mears and Jon­sara Ruth of the Healthy Mate­ri­als Lab at Par­sons School of Design

Activist: Mon­i­ca Rhodes, for her preser­va­tion work on behalf of key his­tor­i­cal sites of the Civ­il Rights move­ments and Black history

Edu­ca­tor: Hazel Edwards of Howard Uni­ver­si­ty This year’s win­ners will be hon­ored at the annu­al Women in Archi­tec­ture cer­e­mo­ny in New York City on Octo­ber 20th

Click here to read more.


In the accep­tance speech for Women In Archi­tec­ture Design Lead­er­ship Awards by Archi­tec­tur­al Record, Design Prin­ci­pal and Founder, Car­ol Ross Bar­ney, talks about the city she lives in, women in archi­tec­ture, design excel­lence, and how bet­ter design can help us move for­ward towards a sus­tain­able future.

A lab­o­ra­to­ry for mod­ern urbanism

Design a safe, com­fort­able, and beau­ti­ful world.

Design excel­lence is a right for all.

The solu­tion is bet­ter design.

Up arrow