ASLA Announces Honor Recipients

The American Society of Landscape Architects announced their 2018 Honor Recipients, including Design Principal Carol Ross Barney’s Honorary Membership.

“Selected by ASLA’s Board of Trustees, the honors represent the highest awards ASLA presents each year. The honors will be presented at the president’s dinner on October 22, held during the 2018 ASLA Annual Meeting and EXPO, October 19–22, in Philadelphia.”

“Chicago is home to people of all backgrounds and faiths and thanks to Carol’s enduring architectural leadership, Chicago has witnessed impressive architectural improvements in a variety of multi-use areas. Today, residents can take advantage of functional urban open spaces and transit stations as well as interact differently in places of learning and worship because of her efforts. She has worked tirelessly to provide Chicagoans and visitors alike with exceptional public architecture” said Chicago Mayor Rahm Emanuel in a letter of support.

“She is a distinguished architect who cares about the broader environment and has been an ally and collaborator with landscape architects throughout her career” said Laurie D. Olin, FASLA, Principal at Olin.

“Carol has made an indelible mark on the profession of Landscape Architecture with her exceptional collaborative skill, her great respect for design, and as an advocate for the practice as a whole” said Tom Oslund, FASLA, Principal at Oslund and Associates.

“Her 40+ year campaign for design excellence as an architect, urbanist, mentor, educator and global citizen, coupled with her unyielding commitment to the profession of Landscape Architecture, make her the ideal candidate for honorary membership” said Bradley C. McCauley, PLA, ASLA, CDT, Trustee at ILASLA.

View the other Honor Recipients at